PREFER (Personal Resources of Elderly People with Multimorbidity: Fortification of Effective Health Behaviour) was a collaborative project of the German Centre of Gerontology (DZA) and the Freie Universität Berlin, Department of Health Psychology. The project was part of the multicentric Berlin research association AMA (Autonomy despite Multimorbidity in old Age). The PREFER study investigated the extent to which psychosocial resources can help elderly people with multiple diseases to lead an independent life of high quality and autonomy, despite health constraints. The aim of the study was to find out how elderly people with multiple diseases can maintain and improve their health behaviour and their health. The study was funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) (Kennzeichen 01ET0702). More information about the project PREFER can be found here.

The project comprised two phases of funding: In the first phase (PREFER I, 2008 - 2010), it was examined whether the way a person deals with their illnesses, how they think about it, and what they do despite or even due to their own illnesses, could explain differences in quality of life and autonomy. The data base consisted of a standardised survey of 309 people aged 65 and over with a history of multiple diseases, with three points of measurement during the course of 2009, supplemented by various health and cognitive tests and the recording of all medicines taken regularly. For more information, see the first project phase on the PREFER project website. All respondents had previously taken part in the German Ageing Survey (DEAS) in 2008. Therefore, DEAS study participants already had provided a lot of information that could be used by combining the data.

The anonymised survey and test data of the PREFER I study are provided by the Research Data Centre for scientific secondary analyses as a Scientific Use File (SUF) (variable and value labels are available in German only). They can be linked to the anonymised survey data of DEAS 2008.

In the second funding phase (PREFER II, 2011 - 2014), two randomised control studies were used to develop and evaluate interventional modules in order to motivate elderly people with multiple illnesses to exercise physical activity and specifically to become physically (more) active. For more information, see the second project phase on the PREFER project website. PREFER II participants were neither DEAS nor PREFER I respondents. Data from the intervention study is not available from the Research Data Centre.

PREFER (Personal Resources of Elderly People with Multimorbidity: Fortification of Effective Health Behaviour) war ein Kooperationsprojekt des Deutschen Zentrums für Altersfragen (DZA) und der Freien Universität Berlin, Arbeitsbereich Gesundheitspsychologie. Das Projekt war Teil des multizentrischen Berliner Forschungsverbundes AMA (Autonomie trotz Multimorbidität im Alter). Die PREFER-Studie erforschte, inwieweit psychosoziale Ressourcen älteren Menschen mit Mehrfacherkrankungen helfen können, trotz gesundheitlicher Einschränkungen ein selbstständiges Leben mit hoher Lebensqualität und Autonomie zu führen. Ziel der Studie war es, Anhaltspunkte dafür zu finden, wie ältere Menschen mit Mehrfacherkrankungen ihr Gesundheitsverhalten und ihren Gesundheitszustand aufrechterhalten und verbessern können. Die Studie wurde aus Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert (Kennzeichen 01ET0702).
Nähere Informationen zum Projekt PREFER finden sich hier.

Das Projekt umfasste zwei Förderphasen. In der ersten Phase (PREFER I, 2008 - 2010) wurde untersucht, ob die Art und Weise, wie eine Person mit ihren Erkrankungen umgeht, wie sie darüber denkt und was sie trotz oder gerade wegen ihren Erkrankungen tut, Unterschiede in der Lebensqualität und Autonomie erklären kann. Datengrundlage bildete eine standardisierte Befragung von 309 mehrfach erkrankten Menschen im Alter ab 65 Jahren mit drei Messzeitpunkten im Laufe des Jahres 2009, ergänzt durch verschiedene Gesundheits- und kognitive Kurztests und die Erfassung aller regelmäßig eingenommenen Medikamente (nähere Informationen siehe 1. Förderphase auf der Webseite des Projekts PREFER). Alle Befragten hatten zuvor im Jahr 2008  am Deutschen Alterssurvey (DEAS) teilgenommen. Daher lagen zu den Studienteilnehmern aus der DEAS-Befragung bereits zahlreiche Informationen vor, die durch ein Zusammenfügen der Daten genutzt werden können.

Die anonymisierten Befragungs- und Testdaten der PREFER I-Studie werden vom Forschungsdatenzentrum für wissenschaftliche Sekundäranalysen als Scientific Use File herausgegeben. Sie können mit den anonymisierten Befragungsdaten der DEAS-Welle 2008 dieser Studienteilnehmer verknüpft werden.

In der zweiten Förderphase (PREFER II, 2011 - 2014) wurden im Rahmen von zwei randomisierten kontrollierten Studien Interventionsmodule entwickelt und evaluiert, um ältere, mehrfach erkrankte Menschen zu körperlicher Aktivität zu motivieren und konkret darin zu unterstützen, körperlich aktiv(er) zu werden  (nähere Informationen siehe 2. Förderphase auf der Website des Projekts PREFER). Die PREFER II-Probanden waren keine Teilnehmer des DEAS oder der PREFER I-Studie.
Die Daten der Interventionsstudie stehen dem Forschungsdatenzentrum nicht zur Verfügung.